Patrick Trabé

Co-founding partner

European Patent Attorney
Conseil en propriété industrielle (French Patent Attorney)

Patrick has a PhD in computer science from the University of Toulouse. He wrote his thesis on the security of IP networks and the fight against DDoS attacks. He started his career in the industry, first in the R&D laboratories of a French telecom provider, and then for one year in Canada as a project manager developing a software for router configuration.

Prior to co-founding Bandpay & Greuter, Patrick worked for six years in a prominent patent attorney law firm in Paris.

Patrick’s main field of expertise is NICTs. He also handles electrical engineering, optics and mechanical engineering cases.

By way of example, some technologies on which he regularly works are:

  • computer programs and hardware;
  • human-machine interfaces;
  • telecommunication networks;
  • semiconductors;
  • automotive lighting.

Patrick has considerable experience in patent prosecution before the European, American, Japanese, Korean, Indian and Chinese patent offices. He is a skilled patent application drafter for European and international proceedings. He also represents clients in opposition proceedings at the European patent office, in particular in the field of automotive lighting.

Patrick regularly gives lectures on patent law, in particular on the topic of software patentability. He notably teaches this topic at the CEIPI. He belongs to a number of professional organizations, including the Institut Stanislas de Boufflers, a French think tank dedicated to the protection of innovation of which he is a Board member.

Patrick Trabé, European patent attorney at B&G

Patrick Trabé

Associé cofondateur du cabinet

Mandataire agréé près l’Office européen des brevets
Conseil en propriété industrielle

Patrick est Docteur en informatique de l’université de Toulouse. Ses travaux de thèse portaient sur la sécurité des réseaux et la lutte contre les attaques DDoS. Il a acquis une expérience professionnelle au département R&D d’un opérateur télécom qu’il a par la suite valorisée pendant une année au Canada en animant une équipe de développeurs comme chef de projet.

Avant de co-fonder Bandpay & Greuter, Patrick a travaillé pendant six ans dans un cabinet de conseils en propriété industrielle de premier plan à Paris.

Le domaine de prédilection de Patrick est celui des NTIC. Il traite également des dossiers d’électronique, de mécanique et d’optique.

Des exemples de technologies sur lesquelles il travaille régulièrement sont :

  • les programmes d’ordinateur et les systèmes matériels apparentés ;
  • les interfaces homme-machine ;
  • les réseaux de télécommunications ;
  • les semi-conducteurs ;
  • l’éclairage automobile.

Patrick a une forte expérience dans les procédures d’examen devant les offices européen, américains, japonais, coréen, indien et chinois. Il maîtrise la rédaction des demandes de brevets pour les procédures européennes et internationales, et représente des clients dans des procédures d’opposition à l’Office européen des brevets, en particulier dans le domaine de l’éclairage automobile.

Patrick intervient régulièrement dans des conférences sur le droit des brevets, en particulier sur le sujet de la brevetabilité du logiciel. Il donne notamment un cours sur ce sujet au CEIPI. Il appartient à un certain nombre d’organisations professionnelles, y compris l’Institut Stanislas de Boufflers, think tank dédié à la protection de l’innovation dont il est membre du Conseil d’administration.